2023 All-Star Teacher Award




2023 All-Star Teacher Award

Provident Credit Union and NBC Sports Bay Area announced Erik Bertelson of Wells Middle School in Dublin as the recipient of the 2023 All-Star Teacher Award. Provident presented a $30,000 award to Bertelson during an on-field ceremony prior to the San Francisco Giants and Arizona Diamondbacks game at Oracle Park. Additionally, each of the All-Star Teacher Award finalists will receive $2,000 for their school.

The All-Star Teacher Award began in 2007 to recognize middle and high school teachers in Northern and Central California for their dedication to their students and community. This is the 12th year NBC Sports Bay Area partnered with Provident Credit Union to honor Bay Area teachers.

This year's All-Star Teacher Award finalists were selected based on four categories - overall commitment, excellence in teaching, rapport with students, and level of distinction. This year's five finalists were:
  • Stephen Ashford from East Palo Alto Charter School in East Palo Alto
  • Erik Bertelson from Wells Middle School in Dublin
  • Lynn Ha from William C. Overfelt High School in San Jose
  • Shana Pitts from Mesa Verde High School in Citrus Heights
  • Saskia Kramer Wong from Boots School at Cypress School in Petaluma
Visit NBC Sports Bay Area to read more.
Learn more about the All-Star Teacher Award.